The Dirty 9's - Stop Screaming Start Dreaming Album Review

The Dirty 9's have just released their debut album 'Stop Screaming Start Dreaming' and is available from here:

The album is a great start for a young band that should have a massive career. The initial feeling I got from the first listen was that The Dirty 9s have it in them to become a super cool indie rock band like say Placebo or The National. However on this effort they lean towards the power pop of successful Irish bands the Coronas and The Blizzards.

This debut is much better that any album released by either The Coronas or The Blizzards. The vocals remind in many ways of a softer Mark Greaney from JJ72 or Concerto for Constatine. The band can write great melodies such as on tracks like Echos and Weekend Lovers. The album finisher is a really strong track called Trouble with great vocals. Other highlights includes the songs Corridors, Lucky Opus and the sample Something Better.

'Stop Screaming, Start Dreaming' isn't a classic debut at all but it shows great potential for a band in it's infancy. I'm looking forward to hearing how the album sounds live. It's an album I admire for it's ambition, it's big sound and for the great melodies but ultimately it's not an album I've connected with in a major way.

The Dirty 9s - Stop Screaming, Start Dreaming [9 out of 12]

See The Dirty 9s Live:

25 Mar 2010 18:00 Tower Records Instore Wicklow Street, Dublin
1 Apr 2010 20:00 Boyles - Haiti Fundraiser Slane with Fiach
3 Apr 2010 20:00 Crawdaddy - Album Launch Dublin
7 Apr 2010 20:00 Imeall Geal - Taping a live session for BBC TV show ’Imeall Geal Newry, Co. Down
9 Apr 2010 20:00 The Late Lounge- Irish Heart Foundation Charity Gig Kill, Co. Kildare
17 Apr 2010 20:00 The Late Lounge, Dew Drop Inn Kill, Co.Kildare
24 Apr 2010 20:00 The Village (Gandhis Single Launch) Dublin
7 May 2010 20:00 The Quays Galway
8 May 2010 20:00 Baker Place Limerick
15 May 2010 20:00 The Stables Mullingar
29 May 2010 20:00 The Cellar Bar Draperstown, Co.Derry